Orkpiraten

Thinking and Playing and Testing

This is the story of Bob: Bob is active in her chosen field, which exposes her to some wider audience. As Bob does things that people value, she has a podium on which to speak and she uses it to some effect.

Alas, Bob has a problem. For some reason, some folks don't like her. Where she posts, there are often arguments, accusations of some kind, to the point where people publicly get into (verbal) fights about the perceived innocence or guilt of Bob and others.

Bob of course defends herself, and friends of hers join in, calling those out who deal in reprehensible behaviour. She makes a convincing case that she is the victim here, and gets increasingly vocal about it over time.

Eventually, friends become enemies, communities splinter and sometimes even the police needs to get involved when some people cross lines into doxxing, actual death threats or worse.

Poor Bob, you probably think.

But maybe we should take a dispassionate look at Bob. We may find that sometimes, she is either completely on the defence. Mostly though, Bob is doing full-on attacks on those who have slighted her.

For her, people are apparently either useful, background noise or, well, enemies. And once you are her enemy, or are not immediately distancing yourself from those enemies, Bob will remember you forever.

Occasionally, Bob will admit to err on factual things, but she certainly is always right in her assessment of interpersonal relations. And yes, she is the undoubtedly the victim here, because, have you seen what Steve did?

If a situation escalates, it is never Bobs fault. If people cry foul, they are harassers. If they want to have no part of the drama, they are enablers. If someone on her side oversteps some line, it is their fault, certainly not Bobs for inciting them.

Still poor Bob?

Look up the vocabulary that describes an Abuser. You will find terms like Gaslighting. Victim Playing, DARVO, Stalking, Belittling, Controlling who is allowed to talk with whom.. If you're online, you will also find all the rhetoric tricks too: Hiding behind technicalities, ad hominem attacks, Whataboutism and so on.

Bob portrays all the quality of a narcissistic, highly abusive person.

There are many Bobs online, and I am often not sure if they are simply broken persons or just plain evil.

Before I get to know a Bob, I usually assume that she simply has problems parsing emotions through text, that I didn't make my point or argument clear enough. Because I have that problem myself: Often enough, I don’t know how the other person wanted me to perceive them, what they really wanted to say.

Online interactions are often fleeting or brief. That means that I miss a half-sentence or misread things. English isn’t my first language, and often enough, I converse with people who are also non native english speakers. So I allow for a wide range of misinterpretations, attribute to human error what could also be malice.

Sadly enough, that plays right into Bobs hand, reinforcing the notion that she is blameless, and everyone else is wrong. Bob sits secure in her perfect perch, and laps up the attention she receives, slowly ruining the online life of others.

Don’t give in to the Bobs. Resist that. Stop interacting with them, even when they bait you to it. It is hard. It can be very painful. And you do not have to stay in an online place where a Bob resides. We don’t owe a Bob anything at all.

But we do owe the community we want to live in. Identify the Bobs in there and then make it clear that they need to demonstrate a willingness and effort to be civil, to be polite and to be mindful of how others perceive their voice – or they will be shunned and shut out.

Do not ask Alice to “make up with Bob, for the sake of the community”. This will allow Bob to further mess with Alice. In the end, Alice will have only the option of more suffering from Bob, or to leave the community that continues to allow Bobs presence.

And above all: Don't give any attention to the Bobs. It's what they want, what feeds their ego. It should of course be positive attention, but they don't actually care if it is negative, so long as it keeps their ego fed.

So don't.

Identify the Bobs. Explain them the rules. And shun them (and only them) when it becomes apparent that they won’t change.


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

In der letzten Zeit, und auf verschiedenen Blogs und Foren in denen ich involviert bin, trudeln Kommentare ein, die auf den ersten Blick hilfreich und on-topic ausschauen. Ihnen gemeinsam ist aber:

  • sie tauchen in recht alten Beiträgen auf
  • sie enthalten einen Link auf eine Seite, die im Endeffekt ein Sammelsurium von Amazon-Partnerlinks zu einer Produktkategorie ist.

Das Geschäftsmodell ist klar: Man erstellt eine Seite die mittels SEO überdurchschnittlich gefunden wird, wenn jemand nach einer bestimmten Sorte Spiele o.ä. sucht. Wer die Seite dann hat, und das Spiel will, klickt dann auf Amazon, kauft, und der Seitenbetreiber bekommt eine Provision.

Soweit so fair, aber meine Seiten haben nun einmal keine Werbung, und die zwei (in Zahlen: 2)  Male, wo ich ein Produkt zur Rezension zugeschickt bekommen habe, habe ich das kenntlich gemacht. Wer aber einfach meine Seiten als SEO-Optimierung verwenden will.. nö. Egal wieviel Mühe Ihr Euch bei der Formulierung der Kommentare gebt.


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

To understand the following, you have to keep in mind that basically all germans for several generations have grown up with the stories of the brave and noble apache chief Winnetou, and his friend Old Shatterhand. The german author Karl May penned those, claiming they were the novelized diaries of his travels of the wild west – while never having left german soil.

Then 1945 the GIs came in and were eventually seen as saviours, so everything America was simply the best.

So we got us french hearthrob actor Pierre Brice to perform the very same role of the noble indian. (And from the point of view of my ten year old self, this is of course not racist or wrong in any way. Yeah, ten-year-old me was kinda stupid.)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viDCPCH2FUg

Thankfully, at some point even us germans realized how wrong this was and instead decided to parody the whole thing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WPz81XENmg

So, aside from the movies, country & western music actually has quite a fan following in Germany.Of course, we initially needed it to be translated, and, well, germanized:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsS_RheViI4

But soon enough, real german country bands showed up and we made things our own, especially once we figured out that country music can be coupled with trucks:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tfn0u8gUkZU

Yes, this is a song about someone driving 120 pigs to Beirut. Why? No one knows...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-bzpp568Y8

Truck Stop is, for better or worse, the german country band. They have songs about doing the Osnabrück-Hamburg run in one day, how to survive a night-run without Dave Dudley on the radio, why fishing is so damn relaxing, and, oh, how to be a cop in the big city:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7gECaoUgur0

If, while watching this, you're in the vicinity of a german who's a Fischkopp (a fishhead, as those who are from the northern parts of the country are happily calling themselves), you will notice at least a slight humming along, if not outright singing.

This is because this song, “Big City Beat”, is the title song for a TV series portraying the day-to-day encounters of two police officers who patrol the more earthier parts of Hamburg. The tone is down-to-earth, the pacing relaxed, and the protagonists at the same time cosmopolitan and grounded salt-of-the-earth locals.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXmYOKeQ6FY

If you don't understood the dialogue, here's the summary: He's telling her why he's on this beat now. Because he didn't play along to racial profiling and abuse of a different fellow officer. And the actor, Jan Fedder is someone you really want to like. Here's him in a talk show, singing a traditional Hamburg folk song. Yes, this talk show is habitually being taped in an actual bar, and yes, everyone is chugging alcohol.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6opWBtkLAcU

He's a bit older these days, and the perfect yokel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZW9vND8zsfs

And yes, folkys yokels are the same everywhere. So people make fun of them:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfEmapLq0nM&t=21s

The singer is Stefan Raab,a former butcher you started out as a VJ, who occasionally regularly made fun of things. And yes, this is the same band as in a few videos back.

Still, Stefan is a special kind of musical genius, who can genre-hop like no other.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPNa_9ch5FA&t=15s

(the genre he's lampooning here is “Volksmusik”. The closest equivalent would be Country, but it most certainly is not that. But that will be another installment of this blog series.)

He habitually reworked Germanys Funniest Home Videos into the summer smash hit of uh.. who cares. But this here highlights very aptly the difficulties everyday germans have when trying to adapt to foreign music.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JLtdsD-qkOs&t=20s

But the true road to greatness was paved by Stefan Raabs contributions to the Eurovision Song Contest. You might have heard about that, by John Oliver:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=We1IvUe6KLo&t=28s

Germany used to be represented by things like this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnjahffO7eI

Things got a teensy bit more tedious in the 90ies:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFPQbnraeVg

(The Eurocats still perform regularly on cruise ships)

And the other european nationalities used to send similar candidates. For decades! In the end, fewer and fewer people watched the contest. Stefan Raab thought that someone should do something, so he produced THIS:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPZX7EZIFD0

Yes, we ran with that, while everyone else was still doing this, this or that. Yes, Eurotrash is a word. Eventually Stefan decided to run himself, so we progressed to...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJgszpNj7dY

The finns accepted the challenge and eventually things escalated a bit, and now the Eurovision Song Contest is the camp fest that John Oliver so loved to be confused about:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAh9NRGNhUU

Thanks Stefan!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ooWouRE8tk

PS: At some point, we understood how to do Country. Really:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_l9T1iM84k

and yes, we brought Country to the European Song Contest:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAaG0jalyjg

(thanks to Jan for reminding me of this!)


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

If you ever looked at one of these Buzzfeed lists like “10 dark original endings of Disney princesses” or similar things, you certainly know that european, and especially german fairy tales are dark. Gloomy, doomy, dark.

You might know of old-school things like the Struwwelpeter: An educational book that was supposed to scare kids straight, so they won't suck on thumbs anymore:

Right, stop sucking on that thumb, or some tailor will come and SNIP THEM OFF!

And yes, a lot of the fairy tales end with people being seriously dismembered, tortured or just dead. To be fair though, a bunch of them aren't actually german.

But also more recent kids books contain, let's say, disturbing elements. Take Krabat. A story about a boy getting apprenticed at a spooky mill, where the boys learn true black magic, from a miller that serves the devil or at least Death himself!

(unsurprisingly, this book by Ottfried Preussler is purported to be one of Neil Gaimans favourite scary stories for children.)

But Ottfried Preussler also wrote slightly more cheerful things. One beloved work is “The Robber Hotzenplotz”. To understand this though, you need to understand who Kasperl is.

Before we got the Muppet show on TV in germany, we had Kasperletheater, the hopelessly german variant of the Punch & Judy show. Instead of Punch, we have Kasperle and he isn't a violent anti-hero but more of a friendly trickster archetype. As a whole, Kasperletheater is set up to instill kids with a sense of morality and to respect societies norms.

Schoolvisits of the “Polizeikasper” aren't uncommon: A friendly police officer comes along with the well-known handpuppets to introduce the kids on the correct ways to brave traffic with their bike.

The Robber Hotzenplotz is such a theatre, put into literary form. The infamous robber with the name “Hotzenplotz” sets out to steal grannies coffee mill (by accident he kidnaps granny as well) and has to be stopped by Kasperle, by any means necessary!

Such an epic plot needs to be put into a movie. And simple hand puppets won't do this justice, so.. we need... string puppets!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPGZJecPIMs

String puppets shows, all produced by the Augsburger Puppet Box have been a fixture of children's TV in germany for a few generations now. If a german comedian starts walking funny, as if held upright by strings, this is what they're referring to.

The Puppenkiste has produced many a beloved story, be it about a freshly hatched dinosaur..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWaqOptLHvE

a wish-fulfilling creature that only appears if you stick to a specific plan for 7 days straight..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IznTThbnxV8&t=324s

a cat with a hat (!)...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAwTev0OZ0k

and.. a small black boy who is best friends with a steam train driver on a tiny island: “Jim Knopf & Lukas der Lokomotivführer”. Here's the intro, pay attention, there will be a quiz:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jiMmZTl4zdY

As with all the other examples above, the basic appearance is quaint, provincial with a tiny bit of disturbing added in. Nearly all the stories happen in small towns, and everything is of small scale. What makes this noteable, is that the story has been penned by Michael Ende, probably known to you for the Neverending Story, so, yes, this heartbreaker:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vE8mFDabqD0

But back to more cheerfully Jim Knopf. Knopf means “button”, and he's named that way because he was constantly ripping his pants, so his foster mother put a button on it, so it was easier to close up the ripped part. Yes, I know, that makes no sense.

This is a vastly more cheerful and optimistic story, even though it begins with the fact that Jim Knopf is an orphan and ends with the discovery of a massive slavery operation. (Run by an ancient dragon, no less. And on the way, we'll meet the Wild 13, a bunch of pirates, who are actually only a dozen.)

Anyway, you still have that catchy tune from the intro in your head? In case you it didn't stuck, let me introduce you to “Dolls United”, who sampled it into Eurotrash:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RO1Rk5l2m9o

And if that isn't making you pray for the sweet release of death, here's the MDR Fernsehballett doing a live performance (the concept of a tv station having their own permanent on-staff ballet troupe is completely normal for germans. Just saying):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7XfcyaNyDw

(yes, this is blackfacing. In 2012. There is a way to explain that, but it won't make anyone look actually better, so I won't even try.)

Instead, I'll show you a clip from The Show with the Mouse, where they explain why there's a dent in every sausage:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJWwgpvq4hU


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

If you've ever spent new years eve in germany, you probably have encountered this: Dinner for One

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BN9edpdCH7c

This sketch, performed by two british variety actors (and tumblers) is a german ritual for generations by now – despite the fact that it is indeed performed in english, without any german subtitles.

Millions of germans will devote about 15 minutes sometime at new years eve to watch this clip. Slavishly. If there is no TV, modern germans will happily gather in a corner of their chosen party location, huddle around the biggest phone screen they can find and fire up YouTube.

Why?

For once, this sketch is hilarious. I mean, look at the butler stumbling over the stuffed tiger, that is solid comedic gold. And the voices he makes!

The other reason? Frankly, I have no idea. Ritual. Like the thing with the Berliner, Pfannkuchen, Kreppel, Krapfen that we insist on gobbling down at the same time. (The vast regional variety of names for food is another post. Rest assured that when ordering a Pfannkuchen, you'll get vastly different things, depending on where you order it)

But that aside, if something is beloved, there will be copies, hommages.. remixes. One obvious thing of course is recreating it in german language. As I wrote earlier, if it is foreign tv in germany, we dub it, or, even better, remake it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8rM7-jZeuE

If you didn't understand a word, even though you learned german at school, you're forgiven. This is Kölsch, one of the many wonderful german dialects.

There's also Bayrisch:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGvpXy55x-M

Fränkisch:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfSgD3drWyo

with well-known comedians (Miss Sophie is portrayed by the musical genius from this earlier post)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BerPLxA7uE

And only germans can appreciate the genius of Downfall for one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgcZm2H_WWg

Netflix, savvy as they are, recognized the cultural significance of Dinner for One and made a YouTube ad in this vein:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZhiHT9kOdxc

It becomes slightly problematic if someone confuses the seasons and performs this sketch during the fifth season (which is the Karneval. Another post for a later time):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHFvOfvG8VA

And to get the german kids hooked young, we also have a version with our beloved depressed square loaf, Bernd:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkS4H5fLcq4


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

Disclaimer: Those who know this genre, please forgive me for simplifying things A LOT, and probably getting even more wrong and for certain omitting key players. This is not my music, nor my scene, and I have no clue what I'm writing about.

For quite a while, HipHop and Rap were something that had to be imported from the US. But at some point, things changed, and germans discovered that they could use their own mothertongue to make beautiful music, and to express themselves in the manner of of what they saw on american tv.

Due to demographic reasons (black people make up less than 1% of the population), a lot of this was and is still being done by people who are as white as snow.

Except, some took the thing with the mothertongue a bit too far:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KfWyo2mqXnw

That was Fettes Brot, who sing a lot in low german, their local dialect, performing their very own cover of Naughty by Nature.

At roughly the same time, another group emerged onto the scene: Die Fantastischen Vier:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QG-zPgyQDD8

Yes, these were the 90es. The FantaVier (as they got nicknamed quite fast) would stay on as the grandmasters of german Hip Hop, with a career spanning several decades.

Still, it was a glorious time where everyone and their little kid sister tried to make it big:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3I7JOglOqtM

(one of the catchphrases in this song actually translates to “you're a babe, I want to drink your bathwater!”. Yes, german hip hop was that gangsta)

Further up north, people were experimenting with soul and R&B:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8gNzJcpHW0

And some of the experiments invariably included cover versions of beloved german cultural assets:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIgQovuYiR8

And some invariably tried to emulate their idols from “the ghetto”, but still sticked to the language they knew:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-AUUWKgCX4

But a lot of these artists “grew up”, and became fixtures in the german music scene, with songs that were beloved for a reason. But the fondness for not-so-straight videos continued. So, the Fanta4 brought as a song full of acronyms and clever alliterations:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUV3KvnvT-w

In the meantime, Fettes Brot sings about the hopeless love of teenage boys, hiring a marching band to illustrate the ... ach, what would I know:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rigxc8puTts

And then there is the plain bizarre: Bettina, please get dressed:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDlC8k1SOAs

(In case you wonder: Bettina was the host of a late-night call-in tv game show, which exhorted people to call expensive phone numbers..)

And the guy with the ghetto ambitions? Well, he is part of 5 Stars Deluxe, and they are wonderful:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1oVOE7fOgUw

As wonderful as Seeed, with their... thing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yWU0lFghxU

And to tie everything together: Here's a grown-up Hip-Hopper with an ape marching band:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdtLCfEcPL4


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

While I was doing research for Terrifying German Culture Hour, something occurred to me:

German TV, especially in the 70ies and 80ies had way less advertising than comparable shows in the US.

That sounds like a trivial “so what?” insight, but it is actually huge:

For starters, they did of course import TV shows from the US and aired them (dubbed) in Germany. But, where the US original would have three to four ad segments, the german one would have one or two.

And those blocks would actually be in the mathematical middle of the show, not where the showrunners intended them to be. So, we would watch the A-Team, the van would race through some gate, a rocket launcher gets cocked, the screen goes black... and then comes back to show the conclusion. No ad-break. We thought those pauses were normal!

On the other hand, the german ad-breaks would then happen kinda mid-sentence. “yes, I love it when a plan comes... ” ad-jingle, Mainzelmännchen, a few advertisements, possibly with Prilblumen, more Mainzelmännchen, then “yes, I love it when a plan comes together. Get 'em B.A.!”

Again, we thought that was normal.

The completely other thing: Anything that got aired after 20:00 came without any advertisement. So when the germans took Love Boat and remade it as Das Traumschiff, or General Hospital, remade as Die Schwarzwaldklinik, they not only made these things so very very german, but..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MG_Ha4B4NHc

...also expanded it to about 90 to 120 minutes, sans ad breaks. In case the implications aren't immediately clear to you: Love Boat is a show that has a one-hour slot. That means 40 minutes plus advertising, with the arc of suspense optimized to having three mini-cliffhangers and a satisfying finale.

They took this format, stretched it to more than double the time and reworked the arc of suspense to not have the three mini-cliffhangers. The result was rather plodding and, compared to anything from the US, slow.

The real kicker here is that due to the bureaucracy of german public tv stations, this sort of plodding and timing became the defacto standard of german tv productions for decades. The main production company is still adhering to the formulas laid down in that era, instead of doing more KLIMBIM:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zlurwOsma0

Yes, kids could and did watch this.


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

Even germans often mistake the phenomena known as “New German Wave” for just an assortment of weird stuff. In reality, this cambrian explosion of new styles and bands paved the way for a variety of genres in Germany. Most bands went away quietly afterwards, some got (in)famous, and others stuck around for the next few decades.

Even americans probably know Trio and their “Da da da”, the stereotypical german nihilstic dadaism – after all, it featured in a Volkswagen ad.

What people didn't quite know is that Trio basically did all the things that you would expect from avantgarde punk. And, because this is germany, they of course included axes in their performance, as well as Bommerlunder:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itKVHntFTbI

But the most iconic artist of this era was probably Nena, with all her 99 balloons...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=La4Dcd1aUcE

Awesome, isn't it? Alas, this takes us away from the punk I wanted to point out today, so I won't go into the details of her (in my opinion) much better song. Listen to it anyway, I might have something to say about it at some other point...

Contemporaries of Nena, and probably as iconic were Extrabreit, and their gleeful song about a burning school hyped schoolkids of at least two generations:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ibuw9NphX5M

And yes, we have guitars, plastic trousers and seditious lyrics – the people who were responsible for taping this didn't realize it yet, but this is a true german punk band!

The lines between punk and wave were still pretty blurred at this point in time, so we should certainly not forget DAF and their “Dance the Mussolini”:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZZVD__ZhB0

And then there's KIZ, I actually have no idea where to put them:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRUa-fG0rUg

But the point of this particular post is Punk, and I would fail you if I wouldn't mention the two big fishes in the small pond of german punkrock: Die Ärzte (out of Berlin!) and Die Toten Hosen, hailing from Düsseldorf (Not Cologne!) Fans from either band tended to maintain some sort of snobbish rivalvry against the other band, firmly believing that “their” punk gods were clearly superior.

In style, Die Ärzte were definitely a bit more silly, whereas Die Toten Hosen could get outright political and serious at times.

To illustrate, see this Toten Hosen song about daddy hanging himself in the attic, dressed up as santa claus:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RwxjFQmu2I

And compare with Die Ärzte and their Peace Tank:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAjHNTXa0hE

(the monologue at the beginning? The german dub of Leslie Nielsens speech in the second Naked Gun movie. I'll get into the pecularities of dubbing a lot later...)

As you can probably guess by the toilet humour, Die Ärzte were afraid of nothing when it came to lyrics, so they had funny and life-affirming songs about

  • incest
  • bestiality
  • the monster in the closet
  • the german chancellor beating up his wife
  • spontaneously exploding people
  • bondage
  • people being literally scalped

and so on. Unsurprisingly their albums got banned quite often, to “protect the youth”. The only possible answer to that, of course, was a song explaining all the BDSM fetishes in clinical detail, set to a video of dystopian censors destroying their stuff:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSSnSEczlCs

Die Toten Hosen meanwhile recorded a song with britains Great Train Robber Ronnie Biggs:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ttm3BIryhFw


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

Music is the universal language, they say. And every country and culture has their equivalents of grand symphonies, dirty ditties and horrible songs. Germany is no different...

...you'd think. And you'd be wrong. Especially in the 70es and 80es, there was a union of music, showmanship and.. well, humour, creating a blend that might be a bit hard to understand. On top of that, there was the perceived need to have songs in german language.

Let's have a look at the results, shall we? Americans will probably have heard “The Battle of New Orleans” at some point. I mean, Tommy Horton and even Johnny Cash performed it.

Well, considering that it is a song that commemorates the victory over the british, it is a bit surprising that Les Humphries changed the lyrics to some sort of complete nonsense when he landed this hit in Germany:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADcCU61j4LU

One of the many singers involved here is Jürgen Drews, who, much later in life, become King of the Mallorquins:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztQzfW2rLGU

The need to localize was strong, and spanned all genres of popular music. With an utter disregard to the source material. Enter Cindy & Bert, germanys very burgeois and tame Sonny & Cher, performing their version of Black Sabbaths Paranoid:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iSsVskUcfo

(In case your german is failing you: They are indeed telling the story of the dark Hound of Baskerville)

But fear not – there was originality in german music, even at that time. And some songs even got sung in english. But with more showmanship than any broadway production could ever hope for – exhibit a: Genghiz, err, Dschinghis Khan, singing... Dschinghis Khan:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzmI3vAIhbE

This song was as big a hit as the production makes you think it is. Really, it was the number one hit in germany for 29 weeks! Produced by Ralph Siegel, they immediately also took Moscow by storm:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvS351QKFV4

Still, you can't have terrifying german music without acknowledging that germans are actually able to build more terrifying things on top of it. Enter german 70es prime comedian Otto, conducting a live orchestra performance of Dschinghis Khan:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGLlFskknPE

Do not be fooled: This man is a musical genius, who can take the names of the dissidents & dictators and beat box ahead:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vB-cZRYdE_s

A propos Ralph Siegel. This guy is a titan of the german music business, responsible for the production of what feels like 95% of all terrifying german culture. Europeans might remember his very weltschmerz-driven plea for “a little bit of peace”:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9S3YMmIFdw

I should let you enjoy that peace and end this blogpost at that point, but remember, this is Terrifying German Culture Hour after all. So here, have another cover song, this time based on Grease's You're the One that I Want - a title that german ears easily mishear as the equivalent of “the bathtub is full”. Yes, german is a weird language, I know:

https://youtu.be/U5A2qyMldyc?t=125

And next time, I'll explain the connection between cartoon bikers and two grown men in sailor suits.


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!

TV Shows, what a grande theme. The thing you have to realize at this point, is that when germans hear “show”, they don't think of Law and Order or Baywatch – those are Serials in our lingo. A show is a grandiose affair, usually reserved for saturday evenings.

On top of that, there is a very german variant of the talk show, which invariably has a group of at least 5 to 6 people sitting around a table and, well, talk.

So, shows. If you're american, you now probably think of either Rat-Pack-style entertainment or at the very least Larry King or David Letterman. Well, no. We instead got a guy licking pencils but more on that later.

So, to give you an idea how these talk shows looked, and to confirm all your suspicions on how perverse sexually liberated germans are, here's Nina Hagen demonstrating how women can masturbate. During prime time TV.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YxJ5UShIDg

There were also small-scale talk shows for the regional programming. Things were a bit rougher there:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3AxGp5k-Qo#t=1m50s

(no, this was not staged. Yes, the guy with the axe is a musician)

But the big saturday evening shows reigned supreme. You could safely expect a large live audience, some well-known band or musician performing and, this is inevitable, a small band of text running at the bottom at some point, informing you that they are already over their allotted time-slot, meaning that the news that were scheduled for 10pm will now be shown at 10:30pm or even later. and most of the time, the entertainment involved ordinary citizens being either skilled, talented or at least clever. They were the precursor to todays game shows, but apart from five minutes of fame, there wasn't much to win. Still, the intros got imprinted into the brains of those who grew up at that time:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9EqP-hZ-vM

(You might want to hold on to the image of the cartoon at the beginning. Those two were made by Loriot, and he will figure in a later installment!) Still, if a german suddenly makes a spooky voice at you, intoning “Risiiikooo”(Riiiisk) at you, then that's where it's from.

Another thing in terms of intros was that some shows were deemed to be big enough that they were aired via Eurovision, meaning that they were broadcast to not only germany, but also into the neighbour countries! Such a momentous affair usually got announced with an extra fanfare:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W07iCuZQIZw

And now we're finally at Wetten Dass – the german game show that Will Arnett waxed forth about mightily in US TV already. This is a show where ordinary people made claims about being able to do extraordinary things. Pull a truck by pure muscle mass. Have all lottery numbers from the past 20 years memorized. Have a dog that can destroy 100 balloons in under 60 seconds. Then celebrities were invited to bet on the outcome of the attempt. Wetten Dass was the holy mountain of all saturday evening shows, and the cases where the host was switched out were subject to a major national crisis and debate.

Wetten Dass was such an important show that the premier german pop duo used it to announce it's reunion (in a fake Blind Date format):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHbwFcjmGFs

Anyway: Here's a guy who can tell you the colour of a pencil by licking it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDBBuB8L2oY

The Great Saturday Evening Show died somewhere around the turn of the century, got briefly revived by a former butcher and is now consigned to the graveyard of memory.


I also write about roleplaying games in english und auf Deutsch!